While allowing your kid to get a tattoo may not be in the best taste, did you know it’s also illegal? A Gwinnett man turned himself in last week to Lawrenceville police after a Buford mother reported that the man had tattooed the word “Faith” on her 15-year-old daughter, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution reports.
Aaron Joshua Woody denies the allegations, claiming that the girl only blamed him to get back at him for refusing to tattoo her. Most people aren’t aware that in Georgia it’s illegal for anyone to tattoo a minor, even with parental consent. In addition, parents who ignore the law are often charged with child cruelty.
According to 23-year-old Woody, the girl asked him to tattoo her, but he refused because he knew it was against the law. “I’m certified, I have my license and I know the law … and I work in two tattoo shops,” Woody said. “I would not put my career on the line for an underage tattoo when I have so many customers as it is.”
Woody contends that the girl was tattooed by another artist, and that she is implicating him as payback for refusing to tattoo her. He’s now facing a misdemeanor charge for the incident.
Under Georgia’s tattoo law, it’s illegal for anyone to tattoo the body of any person under the age of 18. It’s a misdemeanor offense to do so. Some parents who have ignored the law have been charged with child cruelty.
In January, Chuntera Napier of Cobb County was charged with misdemeanor child cruelty after allowing her 12-year-old son to get a tattoo commemorating his deceased older brother. According to Napier, she had no idea that allowing your child to be tattoed is illegal in the state. In 2010, a Summerville couple was charged with child cruelty after they tattooed a small cross on each of their 6 children, ages 10 to 17.
Aaron Joshua Woody is confident he’ll beat the underage tattoo charges. “When I go to court, it’s going to get dismissed,” Woody said.